Well…not quite daily recently…

Photo #594 – 07.01.10

Spot the Snake!

Hiking is usually fun, and seeing some sort of wild animal is usually pretty cool, too.  But I was definitely startled by this black rat snake (I think) as he slithered in the poison ivy just off the trail in the Wallkill River National Wildlife Refuge.  After snapping a couple photos, he darted away into the woods and some nearby shallow water.

I didn’t have to fear too much since the black rat snake isn’t venomous (the Northern Copperhead and Timber Rattlesnake are the only two venomous species in New Jersey), but he definitely made me jump!

2 responses

  1. jay

    You shoulda made Heather hold it by the tail so you coulda got a better pic! Next time I see ya I have a good story about a snake like this one.

    July 1, 2010 at 10:43 pm

  2. Heather

    Ummm…do you see that poison ivy that snake is sitting in?? I would be covered in it! Next time, Jeremy should hold it and then I’ll take a picture. 🙂

    July 2, 2010 at 7:30 am

Leave a Reply About This Photo:

